International Geographical Union (IGU) Commission on Population Geography

Commission de géographie de la population 人口地理委员会 Comisión de geografía de la población لجنة الجغرافية السكان Комиссия по географии населения 人口地理学コミッション Kommission für Bevölkerungsgeographie
Contact us


The Commission on Population Geography has more than 250 members from 45 countries and aims to promote research and teaching on population geography and geographical population studies around the globe. Come and join us!

The Commission has a Steering Committee consisting of a Chair, a Vice-Chair, a Secretary, and 10 more members who meet regularly at the IGU’s international/regional conferences.


The Commission

  • Professor Darren Smith

    Chair (2021-current)

    Loughborough University, Leicestershire, United Kingdom.

  • Professor Charlotta Hedberg

    Vice-chair (2021-current)

    Umeå universitet, Samhällsvetarhuset, Umeå, Sweden.

  • Professor Francisco Rowe

    Secretary (2021-current)

    Geographic Data Science Lab, University of Liverpool, Liverpool, United Kingdom.

  • Dr. Elin Charles-Edwards

    Member (2021-current)

    University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia.

  • Professor Etienne Piguet

    Member (2021-current)

    Université de Neuchâtel, Neuchâtel, Switzerland.

  • Professor Jianfa Shen

    Member (2021-current)

    The Chinese University of Hong Kong Hong Kong.

  • Dr. Nikola Sander

    Member (2021-current)

    Forschungsdirektorin Friedrich-Ebert-Allee, Wiesbaden, Germany.

  • Professor K Bruce Newbold

    Member (2021-current)

    McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.

  • Professor Pierre Kamdem

    Member (2021-current)

    MIMDEL Université de Dschang, Cameroun.

  • Professor Patrick Sakdapolrak

    Member (2021-current)

    Arbeitsgruppenleiter Institut für Geographie und Regionalforschung Universitätsstraße, Austria.

  • Professor Papa Sakho

    Member (2021-current)

    Chef du Département de Géographie Faculté des Lettres et Sciences Humaines UCAD, Dakar, Sénégal.

  • Professor Rainer Wehrhahn

    Member (2021-current)

    Arbeitsgruppe Stadt- und Bevölkerungsgeographie. Geographisches Institut Universität Kiel Ludewig-Meyn-Straße, Kiel, Germany.

  • Professor Yu Zhu

    Member (2021-current)

    Fujian Normal University, Fuzhou, Fujian Province, China.

  • Professor Brenda Yeoh Saw Ai

    Member (2021-current)

    Asian Meta Centre for Population and Sustainable Development, National University of Singapore, Singapore.

How to join the Commission? Contact us (no fee)